BOOK REVIEWS




CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE



UNDER THE MISTLETOE
WITH JOHN DOE
By Judy Duarte
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
Read 01/11/2017 

Format: Paperback

A light read that nothing really happens in the story. This is a story about two people; John Doe, a stranger who lost his memory and Betsy, an ER doctor who treated him. They ended up living on the same property owned by Dr. Abraham. John Doe developed quite an attraction to Betsy, and Betsy was attracted to him as well. That pretty much sums it up. Predictable romance. 




CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
Perdition (A Goddess of Night Novella: Book Two)
By Ley Mesina
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Read: 01/21/2017

Format: Kindle



Perdition is the sequel to Reborn. Lily is part witch/part vampire, and Xander is all vampire. There’s a lot of pack action, twists and turns, and romance going on that had me sitting on edge. The story hooked me from the beginning. If you are into witches and vampires, this is a must read! I also recommend you read Reborn, the first novella in the A Goddess of Night series. 



CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
Life Rewritten
by Margaret Watson
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Read: 01/18/2017
Format: Paperback



After her lover and fellow band member, Diesel, died of an overdose, Chantal, a drummer and composer in their rock band, went into hiding in a small town in Wisconsin and changed her identity. It's hard to picture a celebrity rocker turned furniture maker. Even the romance between Chantal aka Delaney, and Sam, Diesel's brother, was a little dry to me. Sure, they fell in love, but I didn't feel the connection or sparks between them. I wasn't quite convinced that they had a 'thing'. I had issues with some of the characters, as well. I felt it was rushed. Overall, it was still a good story.



CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
His Sacrifice For Love
By C.D. Samuda
Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Read: January 16, 2017
Format: eBook

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This was the first time I have read a book from C. D. SAMUDA. I love anything romance and the story of Chase and Maggie delivered over and beyond my expectations. Love truly conquers all. There were a lot of twists and turns, enough to keep me entertained the whole time. A must read!





CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

Surrender to Love
by Rosemary Rogers
Rating: 3 of 5 stars
Read: January 13, 2017
Format: Paperback

I borrowed this paperback from a friend. I found myself lost in the story due to lengthy narratives and italicized words all over the place. I had to go back to reread some of the parts over again to understand it well. I enjoyed some of it but there were parts that I really couldn’t get into. It’s a bit dry on the love portion. It greatly lacked romance and I love to read heartwarming, make you feel good inside after reading the book kind of love story, and this book did not do that for me.




CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
The Prince's Wedding (Romancing the Crown)
By Justine Davis
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Read: December 12, 2016
Format: Paperback

This is the only book in the Romancing the Crown series that I read. I liked the story between Lucas Sebastiani aka Joe and Jessica. Lucas (Joe) was a drifter with no memory. But in reality, he was a dashing prince in some country. Jessica took him in and let him work on her ranch in Colorado. They fell in love and had a baby, but Joe left before he found out about it. I guess I got lost in the kidnapping, plot to kill Jessica by her evil sister. But the story picked up again at the end and I actually loved the happy ending.



CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
The Devaney Brothers: Ryan and Sean
by Sherryl Woods
Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Read: June, 2015
Format: Paperback

I had the unfortunate experience of reading the last of the Devaney Brothers: Daniel. It was a good story so I decided that I need to read the first two books as well to comprehend the logic of abandonment and neglect theory. After all, that’s how these five brothers got separated in the first place.


The Devaney Brothers: Ryan and Sean is the first book in the series about five brothers separated from one another at a young age when their parents ‘disappeared’ from their apartment one day and abandoned the oldest three children, taking only with them their two-year-old twin brothers. Moving on from one foster parent to another, it is a story of how the first two brothers struggled to find their identity, shutting off their hearts to find true love as they grew up, blaming themselves for being ‘bad’ as a kid as they thought that was the reason why their parents left them, and how they found each other and determined to find their third brother.

As the brothers grew, Ryan, the oldest of the boys lives a somewhat solitary life running his Irish pub in Boston while Sean was a fireman. Unbeknownst to both of them, they were living just a few miles away from each other. The women in their lives helped them find each other and learned to healed their wounds and accept one another as brothers.

There are two stories in the book. I liked the story about Ryan and Maggie and found myself drawn to their characters, their romantic and funny moments. I connected to them quickly. Unfortunately, not so much with Sean and Deanna’s story; I had a hard time grasping with their love story. Like the characters didn’t really connect; like something was missing from their relationship. Don’t get me wrong. They had great stories to tell, but I fell asleep a few times when I was reading their story. Unlike with Maggie and Ryan: I even brought the book with me to work and every chance I got, I secretly glanced at a few pages as I can’t wait to read the next chapter.

Because of Ryan and Maggie, I truly enjoyed reading this book. Two thumbs up!



CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

The Devaney Brothers: Daniel
by Sherryl Woods
Read: Jun 11, 2015
Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Format: Paperback

I found the story a bit slow to start. Of course, I didn’t realize that this was the last of The Devaney Brothers. I wish there was some indication that this was part of a series. I picked up another book to read and when I finished reading it, I went back to this book again and to my surprise, the story picked up its pace about a third of the way.

Unfortunately, half of the story focused on finding out why a thirteen-year-old girl ran away from home and in my opinion the reason was a little bit lame. I wish there were more romantic moments between Daniel and Molly. That would be a lot of fun to read. I was also a little bit disappointed when I anxiously waited to find out why three little children were abandoned by their parents. I guess the reason behind it was very unrealistic or poor storyline maybe? I understand that they couldn’t afford to keep them, but why didn’t they apply for welfare or State Assistance instead of just abandoning them? I don’t know exactly how to describe it. At least it was a happy ending for the family.


CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
Because It’s Christmas
by Kathryn Shay
Read: Jun 07, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Format: Paperback


High School Principal, Seth Taylor of Bayview Heights was the center of a controversy and hate, well at least for Phillip. He blamed the principal from negligence that he claimed the principal bestowed on his grandson, Kevin, some eight years ago when he was attending his school before he was sent to prison. His grandson had a history of violence, but Phillip blamed Seth that he became that way because of how he handled him and the situation.

Lacey Cartwright, took over her grandfather’s newspaper and she also had a personal vendetta towards Seth for putting her younger brother, Kevin, to prison. She bashed him on her newspaper, but he invited her instead to sit in one of their school meetings to observe.

And as the details unfolded, seeing Seth in action as Lacey became part of a Task Force involving, students, teachers and the community that Seth developed to help find a solution to deal with violence at school, she and Seth fell in love in the midst of their differences.

This story is not just about falling in love, but it also dealt with problems at school, foster care, revenge, forgiveness and finding that love truly will conquer it all.

Five star all the way from beginning to end.


CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
Maybe This Time
by Jennifer Crusie
Read: May 10, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Format: Paperback

Andy Miller, is ready to move on with her life. She and her first husband, North, divorced ten years ago. Now, she wants to marry her fiance, Will, so she visits North to finally have closure and no ties with him for good. But she gets a different proposal from him; to take care of two children that he was awarded custody for a month living in a strange ‘castle’ and encourage the children to move in with North. In return he would pay her $10,000.

This is a story of hate, love, romance and of course, supernatural. From beginning to end, I enjoyed reading it. I couldn’t put it down and although I had to work early in the morning, I was up until 2 am. I finished reading it in one seating. It is that good!


CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
On the Prowl
by Christine Warren
Read: May 18, 2015
Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Format: Paperback

This is the first book I’ve read of Christine Warren. I had to go back a few pages to make sure that I read it right; feline, tigress, vampires. I didn’t realize that the Others were a series. Once I decipher it, it was easy to understand the story filled with excitement and danger not to mention super hot, sizzling novel despite being it an arranged marriage.

This is a story of power, love and passion. The ending was a total surprise but great with excitement. Love it!



CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
Man, Woman, and Child
by Erich Segal
Read: May 18, 2015
Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Format: Paperback


This is a story of a husband and wife, with a perfect marriage, exciting careers and two lovely daughters. They were a perfect American family. But what Sheila, the wife, didn’t know was that her husband had a one night stand 10 years prior on a business trip to France. Bob, the husband, didn’t know that on that one night of passion produced a child and their marriage was put to the test. Would she forgive him? Can she trust him again? It didn’t help when their children wasn’t that forgiving. But because of their love for each other, and at the end they forgave Bob and they became whole again. True love always prevail. The story started slow, but picked up the pace in the middle. It was a good story, but I guess I wasn’t that excited about the ending. It could have been better.


CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE
Reborn
By Ley Mesina
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Read: 08/18/2012
Format: eBook



I really liked this story. The plot was really good and I found myself reading it through the night until I could no longer see and had to take a break from it. I look forward to reading more as the story progress and excited to see where Ley Mesina would take it. This is a must read if you are into vampires, witches and supernatural. Bravo!!!!















No comments:

Post a Comment